I must say I’m constantly stumbling upon things and people I never knew I never knew of or about. Daphne Guinness is one of those people, a world fashion icon, muse, and artist from the U.K. and Ireland. Upon reading an article outlining how to become a fashion eccentric on a budget (a satisfactory and zany article), I had to look into the iconic names the author mentioned. One of the people I looked into, Daphne Guinness, apparently objects to the label of “eccentric” (something she supposedly receives quite often) claiming it borders on the insane. She reportedly prefers “bohemian”. I might just say “artsy” and besides – what’s wrong with a little crazy? To quote the 2010 “Alice in Wonderland” film,  “You’re entirely bonkers. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.”

Daphne Guinness

There are things about the artsy (or eccentric) look that both limit and expand a person’s world. I find that wearing whatever I want whenever and wherever, while I might sometimes have qualms or nerves about the “loudness” of an outfit, allows me to build my own identity through individuality and create art on a day-to-day basis, a great creative outlet in a student’s chaotic life. However, artsy in the workplace doesn’t always win people over, customers or superiors, and not everyone finds artsy the most attractive look. It can deter attention from potential date-worthy acquaintances. But personality can also come out through clothes and regardless people who know you don’t (or shouldn’t) care and instead appreciate it as a talent of you.

Daphne Guinness’s Noritaka shoes – selling some of her signature wardrobe pieces to the public!

I don’t claim to know much (or anything) about Daphne Guinness and her personality, but I’m floored by her style and impressed by the daring nature of her outfits and wardrobes. Be different, be daring, be fashionable.

Daphne Guiness

Daphne Guinness

About littleswissyarns

Hey I'm Jennifer. I'm a traveler, an artist, specifically fiber, a student, a fashion/color enthusiast, and, sadly for you, a rambler. :) This is just me shouting out to the world amongst a whole lot of other noise...

Leave a Reply

